Tis That Time of Year!

Tis the time for frenetic activity, accompanied by indulgencies in food and spending.  It is also the time to look ahead in anticipation of the New Year – a time to think of new beginnings in our personal, community, and business lives.

 For me it is a time to anchor my thoughts and expectations around a few ideas – a few things I can track, accomplish, and celebrate in the coming days.  I call them my guiding points.  I try to keep these points no more than I can count on one hand.  The idea is not to generate an impressive list.  Rather, the goal is to create a working list in the true sense of the word.

 This year I have decided on three simple words to help me set the stage.  I want to share them with you in the hope that they‘ll motivate you create your own plan for the year ahead.

Here we go—

1.    DREAM

 Sometimes we confuse dreams with wishful thinking.  Anyone who’s done it (and that means a good number of us) knows that wishful thinking does not get you anywhere.  I like to think of my dreams as visualizations of things to come – a foretaste of what is achievable.  Einstein puts it well when he said imagination is the preview of life’s coming attractions.

So, I dream of what is to come in the year ahead.  Sometimes, when I really put my mind to it, my dreams get so vivid that when they do come true, they are wonderfully familiar.  Those are my favorite dreams.

 So, my first guiding point is to dream lavishly.  Dreams motivate.  They create focus.

  2.      HOPE

 According to Webster’s dictionary, to hope is to desire with expectation of fulfillment.  How cool is that?  One of my favorite quotes about hope is this one attributed to Helen Keller: “Nothing can be done without hope and confidence”.  To that I’d add: “nothing destroys hope faster than negativity”. 

So, in the days ahead, distance yourself from naysayers.  Surround yourself with inspiration.

Hope is a powerful enabler.  Embrace it.

 3.      ACTION

 One doesn’t have to be in the movie business to feel the energy behind the word “action!”  It embodies activity.  Properly channeled, action can take dreams and hope and create magic.  Action says NO to stagnation and inertia.  Action moves, builds, restores, and turns the impossible into the possible.  Action defines your mindset, your strength or lack thereof.

 So, in the days ahead, take action and create lasting success from your dreams and hope.

That’s the gist of my plan.  Now it’s your turn.

I wish you an abundance of dreams, hope, and action in the New Year!!!

 H A P P Y    H O L I D A Y S! ! !

 

 

© Copyright Rachel Agheyisi and Report Content Writer’s Blog, 2009-2010.

 

Leave a Reply

