Responsibility, Perspective and Success

There’s value in looking back once in a while.  History (personal or collective) often holds clues that unlock current mysteries.  However, I feel genuine personal growth comes from not getting lost in the past, from being able to keep one’s eye on what is to come, what is within reach, what we sometimes refer to as possibility.

Many insightful people have spoken eloquently and written inspiringly on this topic.  Many of their thoughts have helped me “hang tough” over the years.  I thought I’d share these two renditions of the topic.  I hope they help you keep your eye on your goals as we move through this month of May.

I understand that the beginning of wisdom is to accept the responsibility for my own problems and that by accepting responsibility for my past, I free myself to move into a bigger, brighter future of my own choosing. 

I look forward.  I will not let my history control my destiny. 

I am responsible for my success.

 –   Andy Andrews, “The Traveler’s Gift”.

 

But to look back from the stony plain along the road, which led one to that place is not at all the same thing as walking on the road.  The perspective, to say the least, changes only with the journey.  Only when the road has all, abruptly and treacherously, and with an absoluteness that permits no arguments, turned or dropped or risen, is one able to see all that one could not have seen from any other place.

 –  James Baldwin, “Go Tell It On The Mountain”

To be able to look back meaningfully, we have to move forward.  So, move step by step, day by day, and in time, look back in gratitude for lessons learned and successes achieved.

© Copyright Rachel Agheyisi and Report Content Writer’s Blog, 2009-2010.

Leave a Reply

