Brainpower – an essential asset

Bulb

You’ve probably experienced situations similar to one aptly captured by Robert Frost when he wrote, the human brain is a wonderful organ.  It starts working from the moment you get up in the morning, and does not stop until you get to the office.

Variants of that saying abound.  I have one of my own:  the human brain is an amazing organ.  It starts working when you wake up in the morning, and does not stop until you sit do write.  As you may have guessed, it stems from my professional life as a writer.

We use phrases like memory overload, brain crash, or brain freeze when describing periods of intense mental activity.  These simple terms encapsulate complex physiological processes going on in our brain.

Scientists are still unraveling the secrets of the human brain, but what they’ve already discovered paints the picture of a powerhouse of unlimited possibilities.  Accounting for only 2% of our body weight, the human brain contains 100 billions of information holding neurons, and produces approximately 70,000 thoughts every day.  Not bad for an organ that is 80% water.  It uses about 25% of our body energy to fuel all that activity.

Experts tell us that the way our brains are trained during infancy has profound impact on our neurological development and how we process information in later years.  This might present some limitations on how quickly we acquire new skills but the good news is that as long as it is healthy, the human brain has an enormous capacity for learning.  Some new skills may take longer to master, but not necessarily impossible.

Drs. Roizen and Oz have a fascinating and accessible discussion of the brain in their bestseller: YOU – The Owner’s Manual, an Insider’s Guide to the Body That Will Make you Healthier and Younger.  They have proof that the more you know, the more you stretch your brain’s capacity for learning.  Amazing and true!

I just proved it myself.  This summer, I decided to take an introductory course in drawing.  There’s nothing earth-shaking about that.  However, this class taught (encouraged, might be a better word) students to draw with the right side of the brain.

Made popular in the late 1960s by Nobel Prize winner Roger Sperry, the concept of right brain and left brain looks at dominant ways of thinking.  Essentially, the right brain is visual and processes information in an intuitive way, looking first at the whole picture then the details.  The left brain is verbal and processes information in an analytical and sequential way, looking first at the pieces then putting them together to get the whole.

In her now classic 1980 book, Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain, Betty Edwards applied the concept of right and left brain to learning to draw.  This book is a popular text in introductory drawing courses such as the one I took.  It turned out to be a perfect fit for me.

Overall, the course was an interesting adventure for me.  It showed me some of the rigidity of my thought processes, which might make it difficult for me to see things in new ways.  However, it also challenged me to discover how to tap into my brain’s amazing plasticity.  It was a very liberating experience, which has opened a new creative outlet for me.  I have a fresh appreciation of my brain as a vital asset limited only by my curiosity.

Today’s dynamic business environment offers an abundance of opportunities for every entrepreneur to move beyond their familiar boundaries into new and exciting territories.  At 70,000 thoughts a day, just think how much of that brainpower you could use to transform your business!

Social media networking has become the new platform for business interaction.  It has brought along a new slew of technologies, new applications, and lingo.  It is a wonderful opportunity to indulge your curiosity and keep the brain engaged with a constant flow of new knowledge.  Try to learn something firsthand instead of waiting on others to create the knowhow for you.  It might take a bit longer, but the Eureka moments make it all worthwhile.

I hope the following thoughts nudge you on to your next brain adventure:

Glenn Doman:  The human brain is unique in that it is the only container of which it can be said that the more you put into it, the more it will hold.

Roizen and Oz:  We should find ways to stretch ourselves mentally because the brain grows when it’s working outside of its normal routine.

Woodrow Wilson:  I not only use all the brains that I have, but all that I can borrow.

Bernard Baruch:   Only as you do know yourself can your brain serve you as a sharp and efficient tool.

It’s your brain, your powerhouse, an essential asset for life and work.  Use it!

 

© Copyright Rachel Agheyisi and Report Content Writer’s Blog, 2009.

7 Responses

  1. Nice article! Brainpower is an essential part of work, and this article just gave new insights about it. Thanks!

  2. Thanks, Philip.
    I’m glad you liked the article.
    Please stop by again soon.

    Wishing you continued success.

  3. Dear Rachel,

    Wonderful article! Great quotes! Spot-on conclusions and encouragements! Good work!

    In our 30-plus years of helping people improve their thnking skills, this has been our guiding thought on that extraordinary 48 ounces of grey and white matter in each of our heads:

    “Your brain is no dummy! It pays to do everything you can to give it a chance to do its thing well. You’ll likely be surprised. You may even be amazed! In nearly every instance, you’ll stand to benefit, and so will those around you.”

    I regularly explore ways to help our brain do its thing better in my blog, “Thinkologist.” Please pay us a visit soon.

    Best wishes,
    Dudley Lynch
    President
    Brain Technologies Corp.
    Gainesville, FL
    http://www.brainmeup.com

    • WOW!
      THANKS, Dudley.
      I’m so glad you liked my article. It’s interesting how often we look outwardly for fixes. Yet, our brain is waiting to be asked — as it were.

      I’m dashing off to a meeting right now, but I will definitely stop by your Blog and website later today. I think I’m in for a treat. I like your site names already!

      Thanks, again for your encouraging note.

      Best wishes for your continued success

  4. Cool site, love the info.

  5. I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read.. 🙂

    -Bill-Bartmann

Leave a Reply

