Taking charge through goal setting

ORS Owl5

Goal setting is one of those concepts people agree with in theory, if not in practice.  Many people agree that putting your goals in writing is an effective way to energize them.  I am one of those people.  I write down my goals for practically every project.

This is not to suggest that I am always successful in realizing each goal.  But setting goals is one way I hold myself accountable to a plan.   I have found that it actively engages me in the process of change.

This is why I thought I’d share a few of the benefits I have experienced from setting professional goals:

  •  Setting goals  reinforces my role as an entrepreneur.  This statement may not seem like a big deal, but it is.  Many of us who arrive at self-employment after many years of being employees can relate to this.  Goal setting is a powerful way to say you are now the one charting the course; the one who’s taking charge.
  • Setting goals puts me in control of focusing on my core values.  This is important because it allows me incorporate a broader range of performance measures beyond the traditional bottom line.
  • Setting goals helps me stay realistic.  I believe that enthusiasm is important to get any project off and running.  However, I am convinced that realism is what keeps a worthwhile project, like my writing business, on track for the long haul.
  • Goal setting helps me track my progress more objectively.  This is a plus because, in my opinion, few things are worse for professional development than “imagined progress”.  Pulling out my goal document and checking action against outcome makes progress (or lack thereof) real.
  • Goal setting is the best reason for a celebration.  My goals confirm that I am being purposeful. As I take action each day, change happens.  Hurrah!

There’s more.  But I’m sure you get the picture.

As we welcome the month of May, perhaps it is time for you to dust off some of those dreams and make them real by setting them in writing.  Start tracking them.  Before you know it, change happens. Celebration time.

 

© Copyright Rachel Agheyisi and Report Content Writer’s Blog, 2009.

4 Responses

  1. Setting goals takes being ambitious and commitment to stay focused to achieve successful goals. At http://determined2.com Interactivity that promotes successful pursuit of life goals.

    • Hey, I just took a look at your website. Good stuff. I hope people are taking advantage of the resources you provide. Success and goals go together well.

      To your continued success!

      • Thanks Rachel:

        Yes there are many goals, over 50 goals to choose from and many links to take their goal step by step for achievement. Successful goals builds self esteem, confidence and gives the motivation for continued success. I am very goal orient, always working on goals, gives me direction.

  2. Goal setting gets our life going in the right direction when done properly.

Leave a Reply

